Reply 1988

Today was one of those days where the WiFi speed had lowered to such an extent that it was no longer bearable. Surely you know what I mean, right? (If you don’t, you’re either living in WiFi paradise or in stone age.) So there was only one thing to be done…probe into my Kdrama vault and dig out some old favorites! What I found was a masterpiece!!

I personally love this series; who wouldn’t, with that amazing cast line up? But the first time I watched the drama, the only actor I knew was Park Bo Gum. In fact, the reason I decided to give it a try was SOLELY because of this sweetheart here…

tumblr_o470q8sjw51rvps6bo1_500

Damn, he’s so pretty that it’s blinding me.

Well I already knew the ending this time, so I took my time and enjoyed the romance scenes. But during my first watch, I was on my toes. The first few episodes had got me convinced that Duk Sun’s (played by Girl’s Day Hyeri) partner was going to be Sun Woo (Go Kyung Pyo) but it ended up like this… ↓atahl2e

I found this couple to be extremely cute too, though.

Duk Sun, even though upset at the fact that it was none other than her sister that Sun Woo liked, had to move on and forget about her short-lived crush.

Then comes along Jung Hwan (Ryu Joon Yeol). Duk Sun develops a crush on him after noticing that he likes her, even though she doesn’t confirm his feelings. Jung Hwan, for some reason, doesn’t seem to have the courage to take the initiative and pushes away Duk Sun’s advances.

12-21holy2bshit

Up till here, I honestly believed that it was going to be Jung Hwan for sure because Taek had hardly made his move yet and there were not many scenes with Teak. Even so, in my mind, I desperately shipped Duk Sun and Taek. That was why I nearly died of happiness when this scene happened.o0zqa77vuyzhxrxrzph-o

I’m totally not joking when I say that this drama had stirred up intense shipping wars between Duk Sun-Taek and Duk Sun-Jung Hwan shippers. Being one of former, I immediately declared this drama as a masterpiece when I saw the ending. It was beautiful indeed! You have no idea how many times I’ve watched this scene.

reply882b1

I actually think that Duk Sun always had feelings for Taek even though she wasn’t conscious of it. That episode where she goes to Beijing with Taek proves it too. She always caters to his needs and concerns herself over his well being. Her crushes on Sun Woo and Jung Hwan were simply her mistaking infatuation for love, is what I think. After all, she had no prior knowledge in that field. This article in Soompi covers it pretty well.

Moving on, I love how Hyeri manages to get the dumb look when it is needed and turns pretty at the right time. And her acting out the dance moves actually fooled me into believing that she couldn’t dance. The truth is, she’s an amazing dancer, even among idols.

4a4be04529731ba09b27582ee887a6d889a68d3f_hq

Needless to say, after watching the drama, I became a fan of hers. I even came to like Lee Dong Hwi, Go Kyung Pyo and Ryu Jun Yeol’s acting. They made the ‘childhood friends’ setting more comfy and realistic.

So in the end, even though the drama is pretty well made with good suspense and story, my main focus will always be on… (*grins*)

b201

Go Team Taekie!

Leave a Reply

